Discover all the elements behind the classic Detroit Techno sound and get your tracks pumping with the electronic music icon

Available early February 2022


SKU: M-CARL-CRAIG-01 Categories: ,


Get inside the Detroit Techno sound                       

Learn how to get the classic Detroit Techno sound as he dissects some of his tracks like ‘From Beyond’ and ‘Forever Free’. Discover his creative process and the elements that really define these tracks -how he made the stems from scratch, its arrangement techniques, the classic 909 patterns, and the effects and processing behind the Detroit sound.

Watch him create, learn from his workflow

Watch him create a track from scratch in real time and get the full tour of how he works in the studio and develops his ideas: from his first steps when opening the DAW to how he creates a beat, his mixing techniques -like balancing the kick and the bass-, his use of arpeggiators and favorite plugins. Get a proper look at his favorite synths -Roland-101, Juno-106, Prophet 600- and see exactly how he uses and processes them in his tracks.

Get inspired, get creative                                          

Get inspired by the story of the DNA of music that changed the world: discover the history behind Detroit Techno from one of its leading figures, understand what really defined it, the art of the remix, the secrets behind Planet E label, and follow his advice for new producers to get inspired and keep the flame alive.



Carl Craig

Carl Craig is a creative visionary, an electronic music icon, an esteemed Grammy-nominated composer, a world-class DJ and an ambassador for his native Detroit. Yet the common thread that runs through Craig’s broad musical canon and creative projects is a resounding fascination with futurism. The prolific producer has cultivated a unique path as an artist, entrepreneur and civic leader, guided by his tendency toward forward thinking.

Craig released his first track in 1989 on a Virgin UK compilation album, two singles followed on labels run by his first collaborator, Derrick May. After a series of ambitious releases for his co-owned Retroactive imprint, in 1991 Craig launched his record label Planet E, with the groundbreaking EP ‘4 Jazz Funk Classics’, under his alias 69. Planet E turned 20 in 2011 and Craig celebrated the label’s history by taking Planet-E and its artists and collaborators on a world tour for the first time in the label’s history.

He cites artistic freedom as the highlight of running the label. In 2014, Carl Craig began a new event concept ‘Detroit Love’, designed to bring together and support the sounds of Detroit and take a little of the Techno brotherhood to clubs and festivals the world over.










Becoming Carl Craig

01 – Early Career

02 – Becoming a Professional

The Sound of Detroit Techno

03 – History of Detroit Techno

04 – The Sound of Detroit Techno

05 – 909 Detroit Techno Patterns

Production Techniques

06 – Mixing Kick & Bass

07 – Using Arpeggiators

Synth Processing and Creativity

08 – Roland SH-101 (vst synth)

09 – Roland SH-101

10 – Juno-106

11 – Prophet-600

Track from Scratch

12 – Creating a Track from Scratch

Track Reviews

13 – Track Review: From Beyond

14 – Track Review: Forever Free

15 – Track Review: Relevee Remix

Tips for New Producers

16 – Managing a Label: Planet E

17 – Tips for New Producers